LDS Testimony Meeting 3/31/13 12:54 PM

Standard

IMG_1268

LDS Service 3/31/13 12:54 PM

My comments begin at 58:43. My school was the second largest in Suffolk county*

This is the first LDS testimony meeting that I was able to attend since I began cross-dressing to religious services. A friend had recommended that I visit this particular ward, and having been met by cheery folks at this meetinghouse when I delivered the 95 LDS Theses a couple of weeks before, I was looking forward to this service. Before the meeting began I decided to symbolically make like Jesus when dealing with money changers by flipping a tithing envelop onto the floor.

I was also able to share a little bit about myself from the pulpit at the end of the service without any interference from the leaders or congregation before taking off on the final leg of my walk to spend Easter with my kids. Before I got very far and after I had already shut off the audio recording, one of the more devout-sounding testimony-bearers caught up to me and made sure to let me know that I was welcome back any time.

I began cross-dressing to religious meetinghouses of all sorts after learning of some Mormon women who received death threats for starting an event called ‘Wear Pants to Church Day.’ Having since recorded 60 different services, most of which have been different religious denominations, I continue to advocate for critical thought as I stand for the marginalized and underrepresented. Although the LDS church has officially excommunicated and banned me from their property, there were a few wards that seemed glad to have me in their midst and thankfully nearly every other religious community I’ve visited has been at least tolerant, if not warm and welcoming when I visit.

As I continue Kaufmaning Jesus, I hope to inspire the people of the United States to emulate the leaders they revere and think critically about the leaders they select to represent them; if Americans continue to autovote for Dempublicans who are beholden primarily to moneyed interests, we will continue to see our nation spiral out of control as we allow our planet to become uninhabitable and bombs to fall on the heads of our fellow humans. We must vote 3rd party unless our incumbent representative is really that amazing, and demand electoral reform as a requirement for our representatives’ to maintain their job security.

Donate Button with Credit Cards

Leave a Reply

